F A S H I O N · L O O K · P H O T O S H O O T S · S E A S O N S & T R E N D S

Monochrome & Distressed

I took it upon myself (obviously) to create a few looks to share with you that was inspired by my Spring 2016 Fashion Trend Report I compiled. Before I talk about this look, I want to rant a little bit. Do not worry, nothing too explicit, just a little (angry) expression about something I am unsatisfied about.

monochrome-and-distressed-09

You may, or may not be aware of how the media likes to praise celebrities (especially the Kardashian / Jenner clan) for all the wrong things. Now do not get me wrong … I am an obsessed fan of “America’s first family” and I have no intention of bashing them but I just want to know why the media likes to give credit to them for “setting” trends that have basically been set by our grandparent’s parents. And no, I do not expect you to answer that question.

*spoilt brat girl voice* I mean … that is just sooo unfair ! Yes, they are responsible for quite a few trends but come the fudge on! Are they the ones that introduced us to wearing really oversized denim jackets? Did they really set the trend of wearing a slip dress over a t-shirt? Did they really set the boxer braids trend? Did they really set the trend of wearing no bra under your clothes? I could go on but I do not want to be renamed “the Kardashian hater.” *drops mic*

People that works in media are told / taught that they must always have the right facts before posting anything. So why are they allowed to spread such inaccurate information!?

monochrome-and-distressed-01
gif credit

monochrome-and-distressed-05

With that out of the way, let us move on to the initial reason for this post, this look.

About This Look

Yeah … slip dresses being donned over a basic tee have been all up in our faces lately, I know but I could not resist the temptation of showing you my take on this trend.

This dress came with it’s own little white t-shirt attached to the dress – however, the dress fit me and the t-shirt did not and I was totally not having that.

I always wanted to play with two different neckline styles and I took this look to do just that. Here I am wearing a v-neck t-shirt with a round neck slip dress. The past me would probably have seen this as conflict by pairing two opposite necklines with each other but it actually works pretty well.

monochrome-and-distressed-08

That is the thing about fashion … you should not be afraid to experiment and do not limit yourself. You might be surprised with the results and really like it.

Black and white (monochrome) outfits are also my favourite to pull off every now and then.

Okay, so the denim jacket was my way of adding a more distressed factor into this look because all the lines are so clean and the pieces are so solid – very minimalistic actually.

The chokers and the baseball cap helps to “modernise” the look because both items are currently hot on the fashion trend list. Lately I have also been obsessed with layering my chokers over each other to change it’s overall appearance. You should try it some time.

monochrome-and-distressed-06monochrome-and-distressed-04monochrome-and-distressed-03monochrome-and-distressed-02

Sneakers would have definitely worked with this look too but I wanted to incorporate something of a formal factor because this look is really casual (and I have not been able to attach myself to sneakers yet).

monochrome-and-distressed-07

The look might seem mediocre but I like it and I happen to be quite fond of this trend (and look) hey.

Details

Makeup & Styling: Luke India Ramos | Photography: Caleb Murray

Lips (lip butter): Labello | Cap: Cape Town Flee Markets | Choker: DIY | Necklace, T-Shirt, Dress: Mr Price | Jacket (ripped by me): Thrifted | Shoes: Fashion Express / The Fix

monochrome-and-distressed-10

That is all there is for today. What do you think about my little rant above? What do you think of this look? How would you style your slip dress? Let us communicate in the comments below because I would really love to hear from you.

Stay tuned for my next look post coming later this week in which I explore another essential from my spring 2016 fashion trend report.

Until we slay again,

Luke IndiaAbout Me

9 thoughts on “Monochrome & Distressed

  1. Obsessed with that jacket! Love the overall look and it so suits you! I agree that current trends that are being raved over were high fashion in the 90’s and even before that.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. It’s really cool how you distressed the jacket. I ddon’t own any slip dresses but I’ve seen some I’ve ones in stores.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

