7 D A Y B L O G G I N G C H A L L E N G E · A D V I C E & T I P S · B L O G · L I F E S T Y L E · P H O T O S H O O T S

How To Prepare For A Photo Shoot

I am a fashion blogger and part of my job description entails having regular photo shoots to put out new content (also known as look posts). I have been in this game for over a year now and I must admit that my favourite part of creating content is physically going out to the streets of Cape Town and having myself photographed in a slaying outfit.

 Now you just get see the end product of the photo shoot but there are so many things happening the day (and sometimes a few hours) before the photo shoot which needs proper planning so everything can be a success at the end of the day.

moodboard125

Since I started doing photo shoots, I got myself into a routine that ensures I am well prepared for the day of the shoot and I will tell you exactly how to do this.

This post is also appropriate as it complies with today’s post prompt for Sam Posselt’s #rsabizblogs 7 Day Blogging Challenge, which is titled: “HOW TO“.

How To Prepare For A Photoshoot
Before The Day Of The Shoot

moodboard100

1} Plan your outfits in advance

From accessories to clothes to shoes.

I normally do this about a week or two before the day of the shoot. I spend three nights matching up pieces (from my wardrobe / my ma’s) to create the look that I envisioned based on a specific theme I have set.

This process can be quite time consuming because I try to create different looks that could possibly work with the theme too.

Allow me to also use this as an opportunity to inform you that the clothing that I am seen wearing on my blog are my own clothes because some people have this idea that my outfits are somehow sponsored by some clothing store or brand and this is not the case.

moodboard118

2} Create a makeup look that will be suitable for all the outfits you have created

When you do a shoot, you only have time to change outfits and have it photographed. There is not really time to change / redo makeup, that is why I got into the habit of creating a makeup look that will compliment all the outfits I am photographing on that day as we do not only shoot one look.

What I do sometimes is change my lip colour when I change into a new outfit.

3} Plan how much time it will take you to change

This is also why step one is so important – “practice” getting dressed and undressed while timing yourself. This allows you to set out a few minutes for changing within the hours your shoot is scheduled for.

I still happen to struggle with this a little bit but I am working on it.

slayingdatenightwithadoremeunderwear-moviedate103

4} Do a last “fitting” and pack your bags the night before

It is like going out for the weekend – I get dressed into my outfits again (just to see it one last time) and then I pack them in my bag as I get undressed the night before the day of the shoot already. This way I am sure that everything is packed and I can sleep five minutes later in the morning.

5} Go to bed early

Unless you have a solution for puffy eyes, then this does not apply to you.

On The Day Of The Shoot

6}  Wake up early

I should probably be the last one mentioning this because I am always late but it is important that you wakeup extra early to thoroughly do the last few preperations leading up to the shoot.

Time is money!

7} Do as much as you can before leaving

In other words … get dressed into the first outfit you would like to have photographed and apply your makeup.

moodboard105

8} Leave for the location of the shoot early

To prevent coming late, be sure to leave your house as early as possible so that you can be at the location that the shoot will be taking place at least thirty minutes before the time you have scheduled with the photographer.

Once again! I should probably be the last one talking time here.

9} Drink plenty of water

Have a glass of water when you wakeup. Have some water on your way to the shoot. Have some water before you start the shoot. Have some water when you go and change your outfits.

Photoshoots can drain the life out of you, especially if you are shooting a lot of outfits that day, so having a lot of water on hand is vital.

moodboard126

10} Take a few selfies / pic’s (on your phone) before you start

This way you can get into the mood for the shoot.

So that is my way of preparing for a photoshoot. I hope you can apply some of these tips for yourself whenever you plan on doing a shoot. Feel free to reach out to me if you have any questions.

Until we slay again,

Luke IndiaAbout Me

Disclaimer: The images I used in this post have all been sourced from pinterest.

6 thoughts on “How To Prepare For A Photo Shoot

  1. I laughed at the “sleep 5 mins later in the morning”. I love a good lie-in 🙂
    And I have to prepare myself ages in advance just to be on time, never mind early! I run late often and have tried so many tricks with myself to get into the habit of being early. I just get distracted too easily.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Melissa, I think you and I will be great friends because you literally described me 🙂 . Whenever I have to get ready to go somewhere, I always find something (that does not have to be done at that time) to do and I am struggling to outgrow this habit.

      Like

  2. Very interesting to read about all the prep involved in doing a photo shoot. Like a lot of jobs, people don’t really appreciate the time and effort that goes into things as they only see the end result. This post was great for increasing awareness so thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Satisfied to hear that you found this interesting. And I have to admit, before I started blogging more seriously, I just assumed that there is not much work that goes into it but now that I find myself in the blogger position I realise that there is so much going on behind the scenes actually.

      Glad you enjoyed it 🙂 .

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

